Happiness Project – Spring Cleaning

I have always been a sucker for self-improvement information. Whether it is books, seminars or videos, I’ve always enjoyed learning how to be better (now APPLYING this learning is an entirely different story). So, when I saw the colorfully colored book The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin on the shelf in the book section of Target, I couldn’t help myself but to pick it up. Nevermind the fact that I have at least five self-help books at home that I haven’t read yet. In my defense, I’m not sure that I would actually categorize the book as a self-help book. It really more of a story about how Rubin went about creating a happier life for herself.

I am only a couple of chapters in (look out for a full book review soon), but one of the first areas that Rubin tackled in an effort to be happier was removing the physical clutter in her home. This wasn’t a novel idea to me – I was a loyal Oprah show watcher so I had seen the many episodes with guest Peter Walsh where he explained how clutter in the home, clutters the mind, creates stress and just really isn’t good for you. The book, background knowledge I already had about the benefits of an organized home and the fact that Spring is here (finally!) created the perfect storm that kicked me into gear to make a concerted effort to remove some of the clutter in my own home.

Here’s what I’ve accomplished so far:
Got rid of old bath towels
Got rid of a few pairs of jeans
Donated old books

Here’s what I’ve still got to do:
Finish going through closet
Go through drawers (how many pairs of cotton underwear does one person need?)
Go through shoes
Go through files (not sure why I am holding on to cable bills from 2003)
Clean out personal and work email inbox

There are probably more things that I could add to the ‘to do’ list but I think I’ll wait until I’ve crossed a few more off before I add them. Baby steps.

Wish me luck!

Categories: Self Improvement

Tags: , , ,

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. Book Review: The Happiness Project « Coffee with Joy

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

