Give Them Their Flowers While They Are Still Here

Flowers

I am back in California this week.  This time the occasion is not a happy one – my Aunt passed away and much of my family is in Victorville, CA for her funeral.  Despite the fact that I have a fairly large extended family, I have not had to deal with many deaths.  But in the past year and a half, I’ve lost two uncles and now my Aunt Mae.  While I was not extremely close with my uncles, I spent quite a bit of time with Aunt Mae growing up when we lived in Southern California in the eighties.  Unlike my brother, who is very good about keeping in touch with family and friends, I have not been very good about checking in with Aunt Mae.  I called every now and then, and definitely when she would occasionally fall ill, but I didn’t call as much as I should have.  I didn’t send pictures of the kids as often as I should have.  I don’t think I’ve ever told her how much I loved coming to see her during the summer, how much I loved her garden or how much I enjoyed hearing her laugh.  Even though I know she knew that I loved her, I didn’t give her enough flowers while she was still here.

Joy

Categories: Family

Tags: , ,

2 replies

  1. You may not have called or sent pics but I’m sure Aunt Mae felt your spirit of love very strongly. I don’t even know if you realize how much you talk about her during our college years and after. I think “the L’s” felt like we knew her through all of your many stories.

    Like you said, she knew how much you loved her and you can feel really good about that! Love you much.

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

