My Urban Farm

About a month ago, I purchased a medium size plot in our neighborhood community garden and today I finally got around to getting the plot ready for planting. I am super-excited about this new venture! Until now, my “gardening” has been limited to a few herbs planted in pots on the back porch. Now I have a enough space to do some real gardening. And the garden is organic which means I’ll be able to provide lots of fresh, organic produce for the family (woooohooooo!)

Here is what the plot looked like before I (along with the kids) spent 3 hours removing all of the weeds:

20120504-195401.jpg

The kids were quite a bit of help…surprisingly!

20120504-195513.jpg

The finished product – all cleared out and layered with compost. The skinny black things are part of a drip system that came with the plot (how luck am I?). Now I just have to decide what I am going to plant!

20120504-195541.jpg

Joy

Categories: Family, Gardening

Tags: , ,

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. Peace In The Garden « Coffee with Joy

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

