My Twelve Commandments

In an effort to keep myself honest, I’ve been meaning to post an update on my “I Did That Thing Project” for a while now.  I think that subconsciously I was putting it off because I didn’t feel that I could give myself a very good grade on my progress.  To my pleasant surprise, when I took a look at my original post on the project, I figured out that I had actually addressed more of the things on my ‘things to address’ list than I had first thought.  Having said that, I still don’t think I can give myself much more than a C+ …and since I’ve always been an A/B student, that just isn’t going to cut it!

Here is what I have managed to do:

  • Significantly reduced the amount of time spent watching TV (full disclosure: A big reason for this is that American Idol and the NBA Finals are over)
  • Reduced the amount of time spent listening to CNN
  • Getting to bed earlier and waking up earlier
  • Decided to start my own Happiness Project and completed the first step – creating my list of commandments

My list of commandments, much like Gretchen Rubin’s (author of The Happiness Project), are the high level themes of how I want to be and what I want my thoughts and actions to reflect.

I thought I’d share my twelve commandments with you, – even though it makes me feel some kind of way because they are very personal, but sharing them also helps to keep me accountable.  So here goes *deep breath* …

Joy’s Twelve Commandments:

  1. Be thankful.
  2. Do my best.
  3. Do me.
  4. Be still and quiet (sometimes).
  5. Take action.
  6. Don’t overthink it.
  7. Ask questions.
  8. Be confident (fake it until I feel it, if needed).
  9. Loosen up.
  10. Follow through.
  11. Show up.
  12. Be present.
  13. Enjoy the journey.

Next step is to develop my resolutions.  Stay tuned for that!

Joy

Categories: I Did That Thing Project, My Happiness Project, Self Improvement

Tags: , , , ,

3 replies

  1. I remember that one part in the Happiness Project when she talks about conflicting commandments, and it’s so true – things will apply in one situation (don’t overthink) that might not necessarily fit another (ask more questions).

    For me, letting go is definitely an important thing I want to work on in my own project. I even have two commandments about it – don’t sweat the small stuff and choose not to take things personally! Coincidentally, these are two of my more troublesome commandments…

    Good luck coming up with resolutions! Can’t wait to read about them!

Trackbacks

  1. Happiness Project – August Resolutions « Coffee with Joy

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

