My First Five-Minute Friday Post

Woooohoooo!  It’s Friday, people!  Now, I’m usually a little excited to see Friday get here on even given week but this week I am especially excited because I’m joining in on the Five-Minute Friday party!

I was introduced to Five-Minute Friday by my friend Kacey over at Well-Rounded Home (a great blog) and decided that I was going to participate immediately.  I had been struggling with coming up with some type of consistent posting schedule for my blog so I thought having something like this would at least get me into the habit of posting every Friday.  The other thing I LOVE about this is that the intent is to get you out of the ‘it has to be perfect’ mindset – if only for one day.

So, here goes my very first Five-Minute Friday post!

Focus

This is a powerful word to me.  When I put this word into action, I feel like there is nothing that I can’t accomplish.  This is what separates those who are successful and those who aren’t.

I wish that I could say that focus is something that I have mastered, but it is not.  I tend to “focus” on too many things, which means that I’m not really doing any one of those things to my fullest potential.  I feel like this, more than anything else, is holding me back from the greatness that I know is within.

I suppose that too much focus, isn’t a good thing either.  As a wife and mother, it seems like there are many important things that require my attention.  So much so, that to focus on just one goal, or just one dream would mean that it would be at the expense of something else that is just as important.

I guess that it would really be ok to simply focus on being the best me that I can be…I’m sure everything else will fall into place :-).

P.S.  In case you didn’t click over to Lisa-Jo’s website and you noticed some grammar issues in the above, the idea is that you spend 5 minutes writing about a particular word…the rules are that you can’t go back and “fix” things.  So don’t judge me!

Joy

Categories: Five-Minute Friday, Random

Tags: , ,

13 replies

  1. Oh, me, too. Focus is something I’ve never been able to master. Love your first attempt at Five Minute Friday. Hope you’ll come back.

  2. Hello Joy, I’ve come to your blog through Five Minute Friday – you were the person to post before me so I get to encourage you! I have only just started participating in Five Minute Friday too – this week was my third time and I now look forward to it each week!
    As I read your post about ‘focus’ I found myself chuckling and shaking my head in an ‘I know exactly what you mean’ way as you talked about focusing on too many things all at once, meaning that you end up not giving your full focus to any of those things!
    In life there are always going to be so many things requiring your focus and so I guess it’s about knowing what the important things are to give your focus to.
    I enjoyed reading your five minute friday post and hope that you continue to enjoy participating in it!

  3. This was my first “Five Minute Friday” post as well. 😉 The last line says it all Joy…if we focus on just being ourselves, everything else would fall into place. Great post!

  4. I have grown to love and get excited about Five Minute Friday. Loved your first post. Focus for me seems to be something I either do with obsessive perfection or not at all. Still learning myself the delicate balance in that.

  5. Focus is something i don’t achieve very often

  6. Great post! This is a fun way to get to know other bloggers and encourage each other. This was my second week…it’s amazing how much you can write or do in five minutes…

  7. Great first time post!!
    It is so true that appropriate focus is the key to success. And that the line is thin between “appropriate” and “obsessive.”
    I also like the “less than perfect” aspect. Removes me from my comfort zone!
    Best wishes to you 🙂

  8. Hi Joy! I too joined for the first time today! It was fun. It is so neat to read that we all are striving to get to that place where we feel that we are ”on our way” to doing what God has called us to. This part of your post really made sense to me. ”So much so, that to focus on just one goal, or just one dream would mean that it would be at the expense of something else that is just as important.” I easily find myself out of balance at times when there are things that scream for my attention at the expense of so many others. I am learning how to stay in balance and it isn’t easy. But, I am on my way. And it sounds like I am in good company. Thanks for sharing your heart with us.

  9. No judgement here. 🙂

    I’m a scattered thinker. I always have a lot going on at one time and somehow, that’s what helps me focus. I love the fact that God has made each of us different and that He has us uniquely wired for our place in this world.

    So glad you linked up to Lisa-Jo’s FMF!

  10. Woot! Thanks for the shout out. Great post. I think it’s really good that you’re so self aware of who you are and what you do. That certainly takes focus itself. (If you can’t tell, I’m spending Friday night catching up on your blog, and I’m really enjoying myself. Not sure how I missed it, but you’re in my RSS feeds now.)

  11. Hi Joy,
    I enjoyed your Five Minute Friday post and I am glad to connect with your blog … keep writing.
    http://simplyphenomenal.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

