Creating Memories

A co-worker once mentioned something to me causally that changed my entire perspective on being a good mother.  We were heading back to the office from lunch, discussing the joys and challenges of balancing careers and motherhood, and she said something that struck me right then and there, and has stayed with me since.  It was simple really – “I want to create memories for my kids”.

Brilliant.

Since that conversation a couple of years ago, I’ve made a conscious effort to do just that (more often).  I can be pretty uptight and tend to focus on all of the important ‘tasks’ that need to be done on any given day.  Living in the moment is something that I truly struggle with.  If I find myself with a day without any scheduled activities, I tend to think about all of the chores that I can catch up on.  Thankfully, Hubby is much better at coming up with fun things for the family to do.  It is these fun things that create memories for kids that they can look back on as adults.  And hopefully, these good memories will bring them a bit of Joy 🙂

 

 

Joy

 

Categories: Family

Tags: ,

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

