31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 1

What can I say, I’m a sucker for projects.  I happened upon this 31 days of writing challenge on the The Nester (heard about it first on Lisa Jo Baker’s blog).  Now before you accuse me of getting side tracked with another project, you should know that writing a book is on my bucket list.  I’ve been writing a book for years now.  And, by ‘I’ve been writing a book’ I mean I’ve been thinking about writing a book but really haven’t actually written all that much down.  When I read about this challenge – where you blog daily on one topic – I thought it might be just what I need to get a good amount of writing done (and to see whether I actually have enough to say to fill an entire book!).

Coming of Age – Day 1

For a lot of teenagers, learning that you were going to have to move the summer before your Senior year of high school would have been devastating news.  It wasn’t for me.  By then, I was used to being the new kid.  We had moved just about every four years.  The only exceptions were the short two years we spent in Hawaii and the six years we spent in Southern California.  The fact that I had gotten used to moving around wasn’t the only reason I wasn’t upset when my parents told my brother and I that we were moving to Savannah, Georgia.  I was also looking forward to living in the South, where the weather would be much warmer than it was in Perrysburg, Ohio.  I was also growing tired of always being the only black person on the block, in class, on the basketball team etc.  I was convinced that a move to Savannah would also bring the opportunity for a little bit more diversity in my life.  Something I hadn’t really had since I was six years old.

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing

Tags: , , ,

2 replies

  1. Ha-ha! I can so relate. I’m always on a new project (though I managed to resist 31 days even after considering it up to the last minute) and I’m “writing” a book. Good for you for doing something to work towards your goal.

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

