Happiness Project – September Update & October Resolutions

I really admire Gretchen Rubin (author of The Happiness Project) and others like her who have taken on long-term projects, and have actually stuck with it for the long-term.  Not to mention the people, like Gretchen, who not only stick with it but then actually document it and pen books that become bestsellers!

But I digress.  My purpose today is to provide an update on my own Happiness Project.  My focus for September was Spirituality.  All in all, it was a successful month.  The only resolution I “failed” to accomplish was to write down three things that I was thankful for each day.  I think I will actually dedicate an entire month to Gratitude, though, so I’ll get another shot at tackling that.  I had been focusing on reading/studying the Bible more and going to church more regularly prior to this month, but including it as part of my Happiness Project really sealed the deal.  I can honestly say that setting aside time to read the Bible has become a habit.

Now, on to October…

Focus: Productivity

I feel really good about myself when I’ve accomplished most of the things on my ‘to do’ list on any given day.  Whether it is checking off work-related tasks or taking care of things at home, I really enjoy being productive and getting things done.  My challenge lately has been finishing the day with most of my task list complete.  I tend to take care of the work-related things, but it may take me two weeks to check off something simple like “Call the Dentist office to reschedule the kid’s next appointment”.  Too often, too many of these types of small but important tasks pile up and becomes a source of stress for me.  In addition, I have a lot of personal goals that I’d like to achieve (like making this blog totally awesome) and if I am not productive with the little bit of time I do have, I’ll have a hard time doing that.

Resolutions:

  • Create a daily, detailed and prioritized task list
  • Focus energy on accomplishing the tasks on the task list
  • Limit time spent on social networking sites and watching TV (this will be hard with all of my favorite shows starting up again!)

Here we go!

Joy

Categories: My Happiness Project, Self Improvement

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

