31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 3

31 Days of Writing – Blogging each day for 31 days on one topic.

Missed previous 31 Days posts?  Check them out here.

Coming of Age – Family Matters

My mother didn’t allow my brother and I to fight with each other.  Now, that’s not to say that we didn’t fight (because we definitely did, particularly when he refused to listen to my wise counsel).  But we didn’t do it in front of our parents.  The concept that you should love and cherish your family was ingrained in us from an early age.  I heard the phrase “When you don’t have anyone else, you’ll have your brother” more than a few times.

Being thrust into a new environment provided practical examples of this.  Each move to a new city brought with it the opportunity to really bond as a family.  For those first few months before a new school year (we always moved during the Summer), before we started making new friends, all we had was each other.  The summer of 92′ was no different.

Our first “home” in Savannah was a temporary, two-bedroom apartment on the Hunter Army Airfield military base (oh, by the way, I have my father’s career in the United States Coast Guard to thank for all the moves :-)).  Except for a few friends I made at the gym on base (more later on when my commitment to physical fitness started), the only people I had to talk to was my family.  And that was just fine with me.  It still boggles my mind to hear people say that they don’t speak to their mother, or their brother or some other close family member.  Now don’t get me wrong, I know that people can do unimaginable things to the people they “love” and sometimes cutting them off and loving them from afar is in order.  But for me, I know that could never be the case.  We share a bond, not only by blood but also by those summers spent with each other…just the four of us, just being a family.

 

 

 

 

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing, Family

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

