31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 4

31 Days of Writing – Blogging each day for 31 days on one topic.

Missed previous 31 Days posts?  Check them out here.

Coming of Age – I Want Muscles

I mentioned yesterday that my hangout during the summer of 92′ was the gym on the military base we called home our first couple of months in Savannah.  I’m really not sure what made me venture over there.  I had been participating in organized sports since middle school (and I was pretty good, if I do say so myself), but I had not yet begun working out just to work out or to be fit.

Anyway, I ended up at the gym one day.  I’m sure I stood out among the other gym-goers.  The weight room was full of military guys and then there I was, a few months shy of seventeen, and a girl.  I got a few stares, which didn’t bother me too much as I went on about my business on the stair master.

I met my first Savannah friend at the gym – Keith, who convinced me to allow him to teach me how to lift weights.  It’s a wonder that I didn’t quit lifting the weights the very day that I started.  I had never lifted a free weight in my life, but that didn’t stop me from going all in on a full body workout.  It wasn’t until the following day that I began to realize what I had done to myself.  I literally could barely sit down due to the extreme soreness in every inch of my body.  But, I didn’t stop lifting weights and grew to love it.

Hanging out with Keith at the gym sparked a life long interest in fitness.  Even though I continued to play organized sports through college, I also spent time working out during the off-season. Even after I hung up my track spikes for good, I still maintained some sort of fitness regimen.

I like to say that I exercise to keep my sanity.  It is truly one of the best stress relievers out there. It also allows you to fit into your pants.  And lets face it, when you feel good about the way look, you tend to feel good in general (and when mama’s happy, everybody is happy!).  I am so glad that I learned this lesson early on in life.

 

 

 

 

 

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

