31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 6

31 Days of Writing – Blogging each day for 31 days on one topic.

Missed previous 31 Days posts?  Check them out here.

Coming of Age – Meet my Father

At 6’6″ my father is an imposing figure.  As a teenager, any potential suitor had to meet him and obtain his approval before taking me out on any sort of date.  And, I’m not talking about showing up for the first date a few minutes early to meet him.  A separate meeting had to be scheduled, where said suitor would be expected to tell my father a little bit about himself, his background and of course, his intentions with me.

This only happened once during my Senior year, when Anthony* asked me out to the movies.  He passed the ‘meet my father’ test and shortly thereafter we became an item.

I didn’t quite appreciate the greatness of this approach back then, but boy do I now as an adult and a mother to my own daughter.  And Hubby, also an imposing figure, will be implementing this process for her as well.

*Names have been changed to protect the innocent.

 

 

 

 

 

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

