31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 7

31 Days of Writing – Blogging each day for 31 days on one topic.

Missed previous 31 Days posts?  Check them out here.

Coming of Age – A Free Ride

By Senior year, I had accumulated a lot of letters from various colleges around the country.  Mainly smaller schools offering scholarships for their Track programs and a few academic offers as well.  I was only considering HBCUs (Historically Black Colleges & Universities) and had my eyes on Spelman College, the prestigious all-female school in Atlanta, GA.

One day I saw a sign up in the cafeteria announcing that Dr. Frederick Humphries, president of Florida A&M University (FAMU) would be at Jenkins to speak to students after school.  He would be giving scholarships away!?!?  What?!?  This sparked my interest a great deal – I had to see what that was going to be all about.

Dr. Humphries started off his talk telling us about the history of FAMU (founded in 1887 on the highest of seven hills in Tallahassee, Florida, etc., etc.)  He spoke of all of the accolades and the awards.  And of course, the Marching 100 – the baddest band in the land.  I was impressed.  Then came the part that I had really been waiting for.  “Who here has a GPA of at least 3.5 and a SAT score of 1100 or higher?” he asked.  Several students raised their hands.  I had the GPA but not the SAT score so I kept my hands down.  For those with their hands raised, each of them was offered a full scholarship to attend FAMU the following Fall.  A free ride, if they were interested.  Dr. Humphries told the rest of us that anyone who could meet the criteria before the admissions deadline, would also be invited to attend FAMU on a full academic scholarship.  I decided right then and there that I would be taking the SAT test one more time.

Photo Source

 

 

 

 

 

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing

Tags: , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Wow, that’s so awesome. Had I known that, I would’ve tried applying to FAMU. I’m really enjoying following your story–so many layers to you lady.

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

