31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 9

31 Days of Writing – Blogging each day for 31 days on one topic.

Coming of Age – A MBA Sounds Pretty Good

If I could only share one piece of advice with a young person, related to pursuing their education or planning for how to achieve what they want to be when they grow up, it would be to spend some quality time thinking about what exactly it is they want to be when they grow up. I mentioned this in my Letter to My Younger Self a few months back. This is something that I didn’t do enough of. I mean, like most kids, I had made the mental rounds of thinking I wanted to be a doctor (then decided to much schooling would be involved) and then a lawyer. But I hadn’t really, truly spent time thinking about what I enjoyed doing, what brought me joy, a sense of purpose etc.
So, to pick back up on where I left off yesterday…

Now that I had chosen my school, it was time to decide on a major. I really had no strong opinion about what I would focus my studies on. I could just start off undeclared, right? I’m sure that garnered a bit of “side-eye” from Mother :-). One evening, I received a call from a recruiter at FAMU’s School of Business and Industry (SBI). He congratulated me on my scholarship and asked if I had selected a major yet. I told him that I had not. He then told me all about SBI, the vision of school’s visionary Dean – Dr. Sybil Mobley, the internships at Fortune 500 companies across the country, the five-year MBA program and the high percentage of graduates with lucrative job offers in hand upon graduation. After the conversation, I concluded that having an MBA at 22, with a pretty sure chance of having a great job offer in my hands, sounded pretty good. So I signed up.

A couple of years ago my mother made a comment to me that I thought was fascinating. “You needed a MBA like you needed a hole in your head” she said. Now this may sound harsh to those of you (all of you?) who don’t know my mother. She really is a lovely little lady – but she is also a fire cracker and doesn’t really mince words. What was fascinating was the fact that she had recognized, and hit right on the head, something that I had been grappling with. If I had it to do over again, would I have majored in Business and pursued an MBA? Was the corporate world really my thing?

The truth is, when it comes to how I ended up pursuing and earning my MBA, it was one of those situations where I didn’t really take charge in deciding the course of my life. Instead, I let life happen to me. That is not to say that I wouldn’t have gotten my MBA, but I would have probably gone about it differently…perhaps spending more time thinking about how I could make that MBA work harder for me as I pursued my passions.

P.S. In the off chance that someone from my job is reading this post, I am very appreciative of my “corporate” job. 🙂

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

