31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 11

31 Days of Writing – Blogging each day for 31 days on one topic.

My 31 Days of Writing posts build on each other.  If this is your first one, you may want to read previous posts to catch up.

Coming of Age – Chocolate City

At last, it was time to make the big move down to Tallahassee.  The actual drive is a blur.  I can only imagine that I was a bundle of nerves and excitement.  I had been looking forward to being out on my own for quite some time.  My parents were a bit on the strict side and I was looking forward to a few less rules in my life.

Campus was buzzing when we pulled up in front of McGuinn/Diamond – one of the freshmen female dorms. A lot of other girls were also moving in that day.  There were also a fair amount of spectators (upperclassmen watching the fresh “meat” roll in).

It only took a few hours to get my things settled into my half of the dorm room I had been assigned.  The time to say goodbye to Mommy and Daddy came before I was quite ready.  When they drove off, I was simultaneously thrilled to be starting my college experience and absolutely terrified.

Eventually, evening came and I started noticing a crowd forming outside of my dorm in an area I would come to know as The Set.  I debated going outside by myself to see what was going on.  My roommate hadn’t shown up yet and I hadn’t seen the one person I knew at FAMU, Niecy (who graduated from Jenkins with me but wasn’t someone who I hung out with).  The crowd kept getting bigger and at some point I worked up the nerve to go outside and see what was going on.

That first night on campus is a memory that I will always cherish.  There had to be 200 people on the Set that night.  And all of them looked like me. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

