31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 12

31 Days of Writing – Blogging each day for 31 days on one topic.

My 31 Days of Writing posts build on each other. If this is your first one, you may want to read previous posts to catch up.

Coming of Age – No Curfew?

My father had a saying about parties.

“Nothing good happens at the end of a party”

Prior to college, I had never been present at the end of a school dance or party. My parents didn’t believe in blanket curfews. My curfew was decided on a case by case basis, dependent upon what I would be doing that particular evening. If the movie ended at 9pm, then my curfew that night might be 9:30pm…just enough time for me to be brought home following the movie. If the party was over at 11pm, then my curfew would likely be 10:30pm…ensuring that when the party was wrapping up, I would already be at home.

Several weeks into my first semester at FAMU, I saw a flyer about a party that would be hosted by one of the fraternities. The party would be held off campus, so transportation would be provided from the freshmen dorms and then back after the party.

Finally, my chance to see what really happened at the end of a party! Since we were dependent on members of the fraternity to take us back to the dorms, I really didn’t have much choice in the matter. I stayed until the end of that party and many more parties after that. I managed to keep myself out of too much trouble, but I saw enough to realize that Daddy knew what he was talking about.

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

