31 Days of Writing: Coming of Age – Day 24

Despite my stellar start to the 31 Days of Writing challenge, I have managed to miss several days of writing (funny how life just gets in the way sometimes!).  And just as I was giving myself a pep talk about not completely giving up, I received a message from one of my blogger friends encouraging me to keep going (thanks, Kacey!).  I’m back at it!

31 Days of Writing – Writing each day, for 31 days, on one topic.

Coming of Age – My Girls

My 31 Days of Writing topic is Coming of Age, which centers around my senior year of high school and my freshman year of college.  It was during these two years that I did the most amount of growing and maturing.  And much of this happened in the company of one or all of the five girlfriends I came to know at FAMU.

In my last 31 Days post, I talked about how I met four of my best girlfriends during the first part of my freshman year at FAMU.  I met the fifth girlfriend, the one who would be my best of the best friends, during freshman year as well.

Raquel* and I had both come out for the track team as walk-on athletes. The first thing I noticed about her was her nails.  They were absolutely fabulous and like nothing that I had ever seen before – very long and each one was completely bedazzled (this was before the term ‘bedazzled’ was even used).  She was from South Florida (Broward county to be exact) where apparently this type of nail art was very common.  I had never seen anything like it in the little sheltered world I had come from.    One day, I walked on over and asked her about her nails.  We were thick as thieves from that day on.

Eventually, I would introduce Raquel to the rest of the gang and the six of us would all become besties.  This was a big deal for me as I had never really had a group of girlfriends.  I had made a few friends during my senior year at high school, but since I had only been there for that year, those friendships hadn’t had enough time to develop.

Stay tuned for the rest of the 31 Days of Writing (I promise not to leave you hanging again) as I share some of the fun times from freshman year with my girls :-).

*Names have been changed.

 

 

 

 

 

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing

Tags: , , , ,

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

