Five Minute Friday – Roots

And just when I thought my Friday would race by before I had a chance to join in on the writing flash mob called Five-Minute Friday, I’ve found a few extra minutes! Not familiar with Five-Minute Friday?  Find out more about it here.

Roots

The first thing that comes to mind is the movie Roots based on the book by Alex Haley, which tells the often gut-wrenching story of slavery through the experiences of one family.  It also makes me think of my own roots (not the ones on my head, although I could go on and on about my hair struggles), or at least what I know of them. I’ve wanted to research my family roots for a while now but have made absolutely no progress.

Why?  Well, a lot of it has to do with not having the time.  Part of it also has to do with fear.

I’m fearful on where a journey to find my roots will take me and how I would respond.  What if I found out which plantation my family worked on in Texas many generations ago?  Surely, I would have to go visit the land to see what remains.  I can only imagine the sadness I would be overcome with.  What would they have had to endure on that land?

But, there is also great power in knowing one’s roots.  So, I suppose I will just have to face my fears and make it happen one of these days.

Joy

Categories: Five-Minute Friday

Tags: ,

5 replies

  1. How funn that some of the same themes popped in our head for this topic. It was a hard topic for me.

  2. Hi Joy,
    I imagine your life will be enriched by the experience of doing something that you’ve dreamed of doing for so long. There is likely some triumph through the pain of what your ancestors endured. I like your post and the reference to Haley’s “Roots”, a classic.

  3. Linking from Lisa Jo.

    When I first heard the word “roots” I thought of that book and TV saga too. Reading and watching that sage opened my eyes. I knew something of what black people had to deal with but didn’t know the whole story or stories. Tore out my heart.

    Yes I believe when God leads you – you will return to your roots and discover more about your history. He will wipe every tear from your eyes.

    Blessings to you,
    Jan

  4. Lovely post…I lost a whole weekend once thanks to a free trial weekend on Ancestry.com. It was fun but there is so much more story to discover.

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

