Five-Minute Friday: Quiet

Quiet

Just speaking this word brings about a certain amount of peace.

The world today, and I am especially reminded of this during this time with the election and storms, is anything but quiet.  There is always noise.  Always something competing for our attention.  The TV, the kids, the dog…you name it.

I don’t meditate, but I imagine what how wonderful a feeling it must be to be able to completely quiet the mind.  To not worry about a to do list, what needs to be accomplished that day.  But rather to sit still and just be for a while.

Quiet…

Quiet…

Quiet…

Such a simple word, but a powerful one just the same.

Not familiar with FMF – learn more about it here!

Joy

Categories: Five-Minute Friday

Tags: , ,

4 replies

  1. I hear you. Kids have a way of making you wish for quiet like nothing else. We just survived a 4 day power outage followed by my husband’s business trip and I have mixed feelings about quiet. Sometimes all I want is the quiet, but sometimes I’ll settle for peace amid the chaos rather than anxiety within the silence.

  2. Yes! You said it perfectly–“Always something competing for our attention”.
    I am so easily distracted! I am finding the older I get, the more I CRAVE quiet 😉
    Thanks so much for sharing this. (I participated for the first time today!)
    Have a great weekend,
    Amy

  3. Quiet IS so powerful, isn’t it? I enjoyed thinking about the power of quiet, thanks for your post. I hope you are able to find a spot of quiet today.

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

