Thankful For The View

I continue to be amazed by the amount of natural beauty that can be found here in Colorado.  We decided to take a quick trip to Aspen since we hadn’t been there yet, and had heard nothing but good things about it.  We toyed with the idea of going to Telluride (another place that gets rave reviews), but I just couldn’t imagine driving seven hours, staying there for two days, and then having to make the same drive back home (side note: working for an airline and having flight benefits will do this to you).

It was a nice, sunny 60 degrees when we headed up I70 towards the mountains late Friday afternoon.  By the time we arrived in Aspen, snow was falling and it didn’t stop until we left early Monday morning.  The weather prevented us from doing everything we had on our agenda, but we (well, Hubby actually) was able to capture some pretty amazing pictures.

 

My backside gets cold every time I look at this picture.

Snow capped mountains make a nice back drop here.

 

Aspen trees – I didn’t even know that Aspen was named after a type of tree!

 

Every time we passed water I would start thinking that if the Jeep slid off the road and ended up in the stream, we’d actually have to get out into that freezing water!

 

I can’t wait to come back to see Maroon Bells (one of the most photographed locations in Colorado) in the Spring.  It was so cold that I had to rush back to the car before I could really take it all in.

I know one thing that I am thankful for this year – gorgeous, amazing, beautiful and inspiring views!

Joy

Categories: Family, Gratitude, Photography

Tags: , , , ,

3 replies

  1. Thanks for sharing these great photos … makes me want to visit Aspen CO someday.

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

