2012 Wrap Up

2012

The January issue of O Magazine showed up in my mailbox late last week and boy was I happy to see it.  About a year ago, I gave up on my printed copies and purchased an iPad subscription.  I have my mother to thank for gifting me a free printed subscription just in time to receive the first issue of 2013.  It was full of wonderful information and inspiration to get ready for the new year – so much so, that I had to pull out my Post-it flags and a notepad to take notes!

But before I turn my attention to 2013, I must take a few minutes to reflect on and give thanks for 2012.

While mid-August marked our first year living in Colorado (which I blogged about here), this month marks our first year in our new home and in our awesome neighborhood – Stapleton.  We knew right away that we would enjoy our home, but we have been pleasantly surprised by how much we have fallen in love with the neighborhood and our neighbors.  Take a stroll past our street on any given day (well, any given day when the temp is above 40 degrees) and you’ll see kids out playing and moms and dads out talking and laughing (sometimes wine and beer is involved and sometimes not).  Coming from a neighborhood in Texas where we didn’t even speak to some of our neighbors, beyond the obligatory ‘hi’, this was a welcome change.

I went skiing for the first time ever this past Spring.  I will reserve my final judgement on the sport until I give it another try, but my initial feeling about skiing is that it requires a good bit of money and a whole lot of hassle (lots of equipment!).  The kiddos seemed to really take to it, though, which was fun to see.  I’ll give it another go this Winter but I think I may be more of the stay-in-the-cabin-sipping-tea-and-reading-a-book-while-others-hit-the-slopes kind of person.

My first post on this blog went live a year ago last month, but I really didn’t start posting regularly until this March.  I am pretty proud of myself for keeping up with it.  Check out my favorite post from this year.  I was also pretty pleased with this one.  And, even though I didn’t write for all 31 days during my 31 Days of Writing challenge, I was still glad that I jumped in there and gave it a shot.

All in all, this year has had its ups and downs (as most years do).  Thankfully, there have been more ups.  I am truly Blessed.

Now on to 2013…

2013_2

So, I am totally the New Year’s Resolutions type.  Other than the one year when I gave in to the cynical side of myself and refused to come up with my typical categorized list of resolutions, I’ve made New Year’s resolutions every year that I can remember.  This coming year will be no different – I am super excited to share them with you in January (I’m still fine-tuning the list :-)).  There is one thing that I know for sure will be on it – Appreciate my life, as it is, right now.  One of the articles I flagged in my O was Oprah’s conversation with Caroline Myss, a spiritual teacher and medical intuitive.  I had never heard of Caroline and I still need to read up on her some more, but the article really hit home with me.  Here is my favorite quote from the interview:

“Give up the need to know what happens tomorrow.  Just be fully present and appreciate all that is in your life right now.” – Caroline Myss

Good stuff, right?

Well, with that, I wish you a wonderful Holiday season – see you in the New Year!

Photo Source

 

Joy

Categories: Gratitude, Random

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

