Happiness Project – December Update & January Resolutions

Time for another Happiness Project update!  December was an interesting month to focus on “Choose Happy”.  On the one hand, given that much of the month was focused on preparing for the Holiday season (which is slowly becoming one of my favorite times of the year), being happy seems like a natural fit.  On the other hand, the hustle and bustle of preparing has its not so happy moments too (Oh no! Did I forget to buy something for the paper delivery person???).

I actually felt pretty happy for most of the month, give or take a moment or two here and there.  But when I looked back on my list of resolutions, I realized that I completely forgot about a couple of them (another reason why the tracking chart is a good idea).  Unfortunately, I did not go through a Starbucks drive-thru and buy coffee for the car behind me.  I actually didn’t go through a Starbucks drive thru at all (I’m sure I would have remembered this resolution had I done so – absolutely sure of it.)  I also didn’t put change in the Salvation Army bucket at our local grocery store.  I don’t have any excuse for this one.  I thought about it, but was waiting to do it when I had one of the kids with me so that they could witness my wonderful act of generosity and then before I knew it, the season of giving was over.  I’m pretty disappointed in myself over this one – I should have done it, right when I thought of it.

And on that positive note, let’s move on to January!

Focus: Look Good, Feel Good

Woman Tying Measuring Tape Around Her Waist

 

Like most everyone else out there, I typically start of the year trying to lose the 5-7 pounds I gained between Halloween and Christmas, plus some (ideally!).  And while I don’t consider myself to be an overly vain person, the truth is that when I look good I tend to feel good.  I’d venture to say that this is probably true for most people – why else would the beauty industry be such big business?

Resolutions:

  • Eat well and drink plenty of water (this should be easy to achieve this month since I’m doing my annual Daniel Fast)
  • Work out daily (even it is only 50 push ups and 100 sit ups on the days I don’t make it to the gym)
  • Do not bite or peel fingernails (I feel extra pretty when my nails look nice)
  • Use teeth whitening pre-wash and mouthwash (I tend to skip the pre-wash)

Joy

PS.  This month, I am doing the tracking chart – you achieve what you measure!

Categories: My Happiness Project, Self Improvement

Tags: , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. You go, Joy. I’m inspired. I don’t think I can manage push ups. Sigh. Strong typing fingers, flabby upper body! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

