Five-Minute Friday: What Mama Did

I’ve been suffering from a major case of writer’s block these past few weeks, which is really no fun when you are trying to maintain a blog (well, two blogs actually) :-(. At any rate, I made the decided earlier this week that I could no longer just sit and wait for for the motivation to write to hit me – I was going to have to make it happen. And, what better way to do that than to participate in Five-Minute Friday!

I was intrigued by this week’s prompt – What Mama Did – mainly because it wasn’t just one word like it normally is. I am a pretty big fan of my mother, so I’m expecting big things when I start my stop watch (In case you aren’t familiar with FMF – you basically write for 5 minutes straight on one topic, no major editing, second guessing etc.)

What Mama (Mommy) Did

First, I never called my mother “mama” or “mom”. I tried. It seemed like a more mature way to refer to the woman who gave me life. But, it never came naturally to me so Mommy is what I called her growing up, what I call her now and what I suppose I’ll always call her no matter how old I get.

I truly believe that there is no such thing as a perfect parent. Mommy is about as close as it gets though. She truly loved (and still does) being a mother and doing motherly things and that came through to me. I never felt like a burden or a bother. I knew that I (and my littler brother) was a top priority in her life.

While our Saturday mornings were not filled with making crafts and baking cookies – that was reserved for cleaning the house and other chores – my mother prepared breakfast for us every morning, and dinner every evening. This may seem like something small, but those meals together at the kitchen table are a significant part of my childhood memories. The other thing Mommy did, was to show up. She was there for every parent/teacher conference, every game, every performance.

Ugh! Time is up and there is so much more to say. I guess to wrap it up I’d say that what Mommy did is what makes me the woman I am today, and while I am no where close to perfect, I do pretty well 🙂

Five Minute Friday

Joy

PS. Hopefully there will be a similar Daddy prompt too – I have lots of good things to say about mine!

Categories: Family, Five-Minute Friday

Tags: , , ,

6 replies

  1. I love how diverse our Moms are and how they each were special to us in their own unique way. I like that the untraditional things can be the most wonderful thing we remember about our Moms. Thank you for sharing!

    Christy @ A Heartening Life
    http://www.ahearteninglife.com

  2. It’s a shame we only had five minutes to write about our wonderful mamas, isn’t it? I loved what you wrote, and you are truly blessed to have such a wonderful mommy.

  3. What a wonderful description of your mommy. I love this. You do her great justice with your words. Thank you for sharing today.

  4. A great read while I drink my morning cup of coffee. You do have a nice Mommy and you are a great one, too! :o)

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

