I Am A Tiger

bengal-tiger-3_z2s

I’ve been thinking about tigers a lot lately.  Bengal tigers in particular.

One of my Bikram yoga instructors first planted the seed.  When doing the  Cobra pose (where you lay face down on top of your arms, using only your upper back strength to raise your legs), she often encourages us to use our “Bengal tiger” strength to achieve the pose.

The second thing that got me thinking about this particular big cat is this new artist I’ve fallen in love with – Emeli Sande‘.  I had been hearing her song, My Kind of Love, on satellite radio for a while.  But after hearing her sing live on one of the morning talk shows the morning after the Oscars (she had wowed the crowd at Elton John’s Oscar party the night before), I looked her up on iTunes and downloaded her album.  The last track on the album is titled “Tiger”.

Check out the lyrics to the chorus:

Hey there, honey
You came along and stopped me running
I’m feeling like me, back on my feet
I’m a tiger again
I’m a tiger again

After my thoughts kept drifting back to the phrase ‘Bengal tiger strength’, I decided to look up the specific characteristics of a Bengal tiger.  Here is what I found on Wiki Answers:

Large, heavily muscled, striped cat. Large feet, powerful legs and shoulders. Can leap 20 feet from a standstill, climb trees, can take down large prey.  Loves the water,and can eat seventy pounds of meat at one meal.

Sounds like a pretty impressive animal, huh?  I’ll never be able to leap 20 feet from a standstill (or with a running start!), but I do think we all have a small bit of tiger like strength within us.  We just have to tap into it.

Joy

Categories: Motivation

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

