Spring Is Here (and other ramblings)!

Calilly

Today marks the first day of Spring and while this weekend’s weather forecast in Denver is calling for snow, I am super excited about the longer days and pretty blooms coming our way (woohoooo!).

I decided to plant bulbs last Fall – something I’ve never done before.  Some of them are starting to peek through and I can hardly wait for my front yard and porches to be full of color from the daffodil and tulip blooms.  To get ready to have a healthy and vibrant yard, I’ve cut back the shrubs and plants and put down some fertilizer.  I didn’t take advantage of my front porch and balcony last spring/summer, but this year I plan to spend a good amount of time sitting out there taking in the beautiful scenery.

Tulip Coming Through

Oh, and I am going to try to achieve lovely potted plants on my porch like this…

Potted Plants

It will soon be time to get my garden plot ready for seedling planting.  I gave gardening a try last summer and really enjoyed it.  I knew I would enjoy eating the fresh, organic produce (who wouldn’t?), but I also really enjoyed the process of gardening.  The urban farm I belong to is so peaceful early in the morning and I found great joy in watering and pulling weeds while listening to the “bahs” from the goats and the “clucks” from the chickens.

Switching gears a bit…

2013 Resolutions Check In

In order to keep myself accountable, I promised a quarterly update on my 2013 resolutions.  Now why did I go and do that???  Seriously though, even though I have not done stellar in sticking to everything on my list, I’ve done a decent job and forcing myself to ‘check-in’ is helping me to get back on track (as much as I want to be like Oprah and journal everyday, it is just plain hard to do!).

Happy First Day of Spring!

Joy

Categories: Gardening, Random

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

