Friendspiration

Friendspiration

Yes, I have made up a word.  I had to because I couldn’t find the right word to summarize the couple of days I spent hanging out with two of my very best friends in this whole wide world.  On somewhat of a whim (and for me that means just a few weeks in advance of any given trip sans the hubby and kids), I decided to meet my besties in Los Angeles for a couple of days of girl-time to celebrate our birthdays.

There is a saying that goes something like “Every woman needs one or two good girlfriends”.  I am fortunate enough to have a few more than that and this year we will celebrate twenty years of friendship.  I met all of these girls my freshmen year at Florida A&M University (yes, I am a proud Rattler!).  I could go on and on about these girls and FAMU, but back to the real point of this post…

Here is my definition of “friendspiration”:

Noun.  The feeling of being mentally stimulated to do something creative after having spent time around friends.

That is what I felt after spending time with my girls this weekend.  I am just so proud of both of them and whenever I get the chance to watch them pursue their dreams and passions, it provides a great reminder for me that I can do it too!

I know I’m a little biased, but I thought I would share a little bit about them (who knows, they might turn out to be an inspiration for you :-)).

April Raquel

April Raquel

April Raquel is a super fabulous soul/rock singer in the South Florida area.  She is the lead vocalist for several cover bands and also performs at high-profile events throughout the country.  You can check her out on her website and follow her on Twitter, YouTube and Facebook.

Shoneji

Shoneji

Shoneji is co-owner of Southern Girl Desserts in Los Angeles, CA (which serves the best darn Red Velvet Cupcakes I’ve ever had!).  Southern Girl Desserts is a Cupcake Wars winner and one of the stars of L.A. Sugar.  You can check them out at their store in the Baldwin Hills Crenshaw Mall and on their website and follow them on Twitter.

Joy

Categories: Motivation, Random

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

