31 Days :: Day 5 – Take Action

A few years ago I had the opportunity to represent the company I work for at the Black Enterprise Women of Power conference.  I have been to quite a few professional conferences over the years, but the Women of Power conference was by far the most “high-end”.  Attended by celebrities and very accomplished business leaders and owners, this event was chock full of seminars, breakout sessions and round-table discussions.  I remember coming home from that conference feeling totally inspired and very motivated.

There was one big lesson that I took from that conference that has stayed top of mind ever since.  That lesson was the importance of taking action.  I can’t even recall which ‘woman of power’ shared this insight – the idea that it is not the idea, but rather the implementation that makes the difference – was profound to me.

Lots of people have great ideas.  In fact, the ‘great’ idea that you have come up with has probably been thought about by many other people too.  What sets those who do great things from those who do not, are not ideas, it’s the actions that are taken.  The founding of Facebook is a great example of that.  Mark Zuckerberg wasn’t the only person who thought of the concept of Facebook, he was just one of the first to act on it and bring it to fruition.

Simple, right?

Yet, for me, that had been my biggest challenge.  Ever since that conference, when I feel stuck or not making much meaningful progress with something, I remind myself to do something…anything that will move me closer towards what I am trying to accomplish.

whataction

Categories: 31 Days of Writing, Motivation

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. My daughter inspires me greatly and I love her. I can’t wait for her first book!

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

