31 Days :: Day 8 – Dream Big

31 Days_Dream Big

When I was six or seven years old, we lived in a house on a hill in Honolulu, Hawaii.  I vividly remember looking out of my bedroom window late at night, staring at all of the city lights down below.  I would daydream about a lot of things, wondering about what was happening out there and what my place in that big world would be when I was all grown up.  I remember having this feeling that I could be anything that I wanted to be; only limited by the dreams that I had for myself.

Back then, the dreams I had for myself were as big as the cityscape that I would gaze at out of my bedroom window. As children, we often dream without limitations.  We are fearless and thus dream big.  We haven’t yet learned to be cynical and we haven’t yet been knocked around a bit by life.  We haven’t yet learned to make ourselves small, for fear of putting ourselves out there.

My question for you (and for me) is what would you dream, if you weren’t afraid to dream big?

What kind of parent would you be?

What kind of employee would you be?

What kind of business owner, author, citizen would you be?

Sometimes I think we assume dreaming big means having the desire to be widely successful or rich and famous.  I believe that dreaming big can be something as simple as seeing yourself be the best <insert what you want to be when you grow up>  you can be.

I am here to tell you (and me) that whatever the answer is to those questions above, if it is in line with your true purpose, you can do it!

31dayslogo2

Joy 

Categories: 31 Days of Writing, Motivation

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

