31 Days :: Day 9 – Give Better

One thing that I really need to add to my ‘do better’ list is to give better.  I am good at a lot of things, but giving is not one of them.  I do the very basic things – donate old/used items that I need to get rid of to charity, donate (a little) money to my kid’s school here and there, and I volunteer every now and then for different things – but  the sad truth is, I don’t give of my time, resources and talents nearly as much as I should.

I worry that I am teaching my kids to be selfish because they really don’t see me serving my community.  As much as we preach to them about being thankful for what they have and how fortunate they are, those words probably seem a bit hollow because they rarely have the opportunity to engage with people who are less fortunate and they don’t learn the wonderful life lesson of the importance of compassion for those in need and contributing to the greater good of their community.

31days_give

Well, blogging about it isn’t going to get it done so ‘give better’ is going on the list and a plan of action will be put in place.

With the season of giving right around the corner, there is no time like the present to get going on this.

Feel free to check in with me every so often to keep me honest on this one!

31dayslogo2

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

