31 Days :: Day 10 – Fake It Until You Make It

31 Days_Fake it

I have been active all of my life.  As an elementary school kid, I was always challenging some little knuckle-head boy to a race (which I would win more times than not :-)).  Then in middle school I started to participate in organized athletics and continued to do so through my sophomore year in college.  As an adult, I credit being active to keeping me relatively free of stress (emphasis on ‘relatively’).

Despite all of this, every now and then, I just don’t feel like working out.  Now this wouldn’t be much of an issue if it were not for the fact that I absolutely LOVE to eat and have a pretty healthy sweet tooth.

So what do I do?

I tell myself that I am strong, that my body wants to move and that I can out run, out lift and out stretch anyone who dared to challenge me.  Now of course, none of this is true.  But after enough of this self-talk, before I know it, I’m out the door having a great run or weight-lifting session at the gym.

I fake it until I make it.

I believe this can be applied to a lot of areas in life.  Don’t feel happy?  Act like your happy anyway and before you know it, you’ll be smiling effortlessly.  Don’t feel loved?  Act like your loved and before you know it, your emotional tank won’t seem so empty.  Don’t feel pretty?  Fix your hair, throw on a little lip gloss and mascara, push those shoulders back and channel your best Naomi Campbell walk…and before you know it, you’ll be thinking your name is Pretty.

Okay, that last one may be taking it a bit too far, but you get the idea! 🙂

31dayslogo2

Joy

Categories: 31 Days of Writing, Motivation

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Next Level Mama

Be Inspired. Be Different. Be Happy.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Fiction 4 Writers and Readers

A peek inside the wacky world of fiction writing.

Simply Phenomenal

Inspiration~Motivation~Sage Wisdom

Baker Bettie

baking science, techniques, and recipes

Polish You Pretty

Blogging about anything that peaks my interest...

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

